Fitness

5 questions: Nicole Polizzi – Highlands Present

Nicole Polizzi, known as "Snooki" on MTV reality show Jersey Shore, plans to open the snooki shop at 508 Main St. in Beacon next month.

Nicole "Snooki" Polizzi

Why beacon?
I've always wanted to open a business in the area where I grew up (Marlboro). I used to go out with friends at Beacon or the water in Newburgh, and we had cheerleading competitions at Beacon High School. For six summers I worked at one of the concession stands at Renegades Stadium. It was one of my favorite jobs. I found Beacon to be such a beautiful place; We always went to the wine bar there. I've checked out New Paltz and Cold Spring, but I think Beacon is the emerging and more popular city in the area where people go in and out. Beacon also reminds me of Madison, New Jersey, where I have my first store. t only are my family around – my dad can run over if we ever have an emergency – but I have a ton of friends in town and my best friend will run the place. I am happy that I can keep it tight and family-oriented.

What are you going to sell
We have clothes for women as well as accessories such as hats, slippers, bags. I try to have items for 16 to 65 years because I have a wide range of customers in Madison. A ton of my mom's friends want to shop there so I'll take care of them all.

How will you deal with COVID restrictions?
one can shop without a mask and we are constantly disinfecting, including the changing rooms. It might be a little crazy at the opening because I know a lot of people are excited, but we may only be able to safely accommodate about 10 people at a time.

Will you be in the store often?
I'm in the store all the time (in New Jersey). I do VIP events where we are closed to the public and people buy tickets. I'm there for an hour and a half with the fans, shopping with them, similar to your personal shopper, and we have champagne and starters. It's like a girls day. But I only come by here and there with COVID because I'm with a lot of older family members. So I am careful when it comes to being with people.

How is your life different from 10 years ago when you were on the Jersey coast?
I am a completely different person. I was 21 – I wanted to party and I had no worries. I am now a mother of three and married. I still have my fun side, but it's not like I was on the show when I was 21.

HOW WE REPORT

Trust MarkThe Current is a member of The Trust Project, a consortium of news agencies that has adopted standards to help readers assess the credibility of their journalism. Here are our best practices, including our review and correction guidelines. Do you have a comment? A news tip? Recognize a mistake? Email editor@highlandscurrent.org.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close
Close